How does my body work : anatomy of a woman

To have a better understanding of the female reproductive anatomy, it is better to study it in two parts the external and the internal female sex organs.

External sex organs

Mons veneris

This is the fatty layer of skin over the pubic bone and serves as a protective cushion for the genitals. This area is covered with pubic hair.

Labia majora

These are the big fold of lips extending from the mons veneris. These cover up the vulva and are usually dark in color.

Labia minora

The labia minora lies just inside the labia majora and has no hair. The labia minora and the labia majora then join together over together to form a hood for the clitoris


The clitoris is very small and is mainly for the purpose for pleasure. It has no other use on the human body.


The vestibule is the opening of the vaginal tract and it starts right from the labia minora and goes through the vagina and the vestibular glands.


The perineum is the tissue between the vagina and the anus. It can also stretch or tear away during the time of child birth.

Internal organs

These organs are the ones that have a role in the development and growth of the foetus.

The g spot

The g spot releases lubricating fluids, also known as the female ejaculation at the time of having a sexual intercourse.

The uterus

It is the organ where the fetus is housed during pregnancy.


It lies below the uterus and also secretes the vaginal juices.

The ovaries

These store eggs that are released at the time of ovulation. These eggs if fertilized turn into a blastocyst, then a zygote, then a fetus and the finally a baby.

The fallopian tubes

The fallopian tubes transfer the eggs from the ovaries to the uterus where it gets exposed ot eh sperms upon having an intercourse.


Menstrual cycles last normally for an average of 28 days. However, it may also be as short as 22 days or as long as 36 days as it varies from person to person. This cycle is accompanied by two phases, the luteal phase and the post luteal phase. During the first half of the menstrual cycle, one or more eggs start to mature inside the ovaries and get released to the uterus on the 14th day, from the beginning of the cycle. This is known as ovulation and is the most fertile period. A woman is most likely to conceive upon having sex on the day of ovulation or two days before ovulation. If the eggs get fertilized, it leads to pregnancy. If not fertilized, it starts disintegrating and is flushed out of the body along with blood and uterus shedding. The blood flow lasts for three to five days and when it stops, the cycle will start all over again.


Within few weeks of conceiving, the body will start going through major hormonal changes. This will lead to major physical and emotional changes in the pregnant woman. From the day of conceiving till the delivery, the pregnancy lasts for almost 40 weeks. These 40 weeks are divided into three trimesters, each lasting three months. Each trimester is accompanied by its own unique set of changes. The first trimester is marked by symptoms such as nausea, vomiting, moodiness and fatigue. During the second trimester, the fetus starts taking more human shape and the organs start developing. During the third trimester, the finishing touches like eyebrows, teeth and nails will be added to the baby and the uterus also starts contracting for the delivery.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *